Article successfully added.

John Mayall A Hard Road

A Hard Road
Listen to sample now:
Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

$12.13 * $18.23 * (33.46% Saved)

* incl. VAT / plus shipping costsDepending on the country of delivery, the VAT at checkout may vary.

Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (as far as available at the supplier - can be faster, but sometimes unfortunately not)

  • CD9842225
  • 0.1
The groundbreaking album, augmented by 14(!) additional tracks (singles, the Butterfield EP,... more

John Mayall: A Hard Road

The groundbreaking album, augmented by 14(!) additional tracks (singles, the Butterfield EP, four live tracks recorded for BBCs 'Saturday Club' in 1967). JOHN MAYALL - voc/gtr/hca/pno, PETER GREEN - gtrm JOHN McVIE - bass, AYNSLEY DUNBAR - drums.

Article properties: John Mayall: A Hard Road

  • Interpret: John Mayall

  • Album titlle: A Hard Road


  • Genre Blues

  • Artikelart CD

  • EAN: 0602498422250

  • weight in Kg 0.1
Mayall, John - A Hard Road CD 1
01 A Hard Road John Mayall
02 It's Over John Mayall
03 You Don't Love Me John Mayall
04 The Stumble John Mayall
05 Another Kinda Love John Mayall
06 Hit The Highway John Mayall
07 Leaping Christine John Mayall
08 Dust My Blues John Mayall
09 There's Always Work John Mayall
10 The Same Way John Mayall
11 The Super-Natural John Mayall
12 Top Of The Hill John Mayall
13 Someday After A While John Mayall
14 Living Alone John Mayall
15 Looking Back John Mayall
16 So Many Roads John Mayall
17 Mama, Talk To Your Daughter John Mayall
18 Alabama Blues John Mayall
19 All My Life John Mayall
20 Ridin' On The L&N John Mayall
21 Eagle Eye John Mayall
22 Little By Little John Mayall
23 Sitting In The Rain John Mayall
24 Out Of Reach John Mayall
25 No More Tears John Mayall
26 Ridin' On The L&N John Mayall
27 Sitting In The Rain John Mayall
28 Leaping Christine John Mayall
John Mayall's Bluesbreakers When Eric Clapton left the Yardbirds in the wake of their 1965... more
"John Mayall"

John Mayall's Bluesbreakers

When Eric Clapton left the Yardbirds in the wake of their 1965 breakthrough hit For Your Love for going too pop, he quickly gravitated to the godfather of the British blues scene, John Mayall, and his Bluesbreakers.

 Born November 29, 1933 in Macclesfield, Cheshire, Mayall was inspired by his dad's extensive record collection. He became proficient on guitar, piano, and harmonica as he progressed, spending four years in art school and a stint in the Army during the Korean War. In 1962, Mayall opened for Alexis Korner's Blues Incorporated, Korner subsequently mentoring the relative newcomer. In early '63, Mayall, by then in London, formed his first line-up of Bluesbreakers. Decca staff producer Mike Vernon helmed their debut single Crawling Up A Hill in 1964, which sold 500 copies.

After many personnel changes, Mayall's rhythm section solidified with bassist John McVie and drummer Hughie Flint. Decca cut their first album, a live set, that year (Roger Dean was their guitarist, with Mayall on piano and harp), and another studio single, Crocodile Walk, before letting the Bluesbreakers go. Clapton joined the ranks in April of '65, Jimmy Page producing I'm Your Witchdoctor with the new line-up for Immediate before they reunited with Vernon in April of '66 to cut a full-length studio LP for Decca.

'Blues Breakers With Eric Clapton' was the name of that incendiary affair, loaded with well-chosen American blues covers (Clapton shared Mayall's purist tendencies) and a handful of originals including Have You Heard, written by Mayall about his then-girlfriend Christine. Clapton fed his solid-bodied Gibson Les Paul (he switched from a Telecaster after seeing Freddy King cradling one on an album cover) through a powerful Marshall amp, affording him sonic superiority. Alan Skidmore's jazzy tenor sax opens the luxuriously downbeat Have You Heard, Mayall on organ and impassioned vocal, but it's Clapton's blasting, Freddy-influenced axe that ignites it.

The album was a smash in Great Britain, peaking at #6, but that didn't stop Eric from splitting to form Cream with bassist Jack Bruce (another Bluesbreakers alumnus) and drummer Ginger Baker just after its release that July. Peter Green had already served a brief stint with the Bluesbreakers, and he rejoined in time for the band's next LP, 1967's 'A Hard Road.' When Green left later that year along with drummer Mick Fleetwood to form Fleetwood Mac (McVie quickly followed), Mayall turned to yet another promising young British guitarist, Mick Taylor.

Mayall modernized his approach during the late '60s, freely experimenting with extended jazz-rock formats. At the dawn of the '70s, he relocated to California. No matter where he resided, Mayall retained his uncanny knack for unearthing terrific players: guitarist Harvey Mandel and electric violinist Don 'Sugarcane' Harris were in his first U.S. band. Mayall remains musically active and on the road, that knack having yet to desert him: guitarists Coco Montoya, Walter Trout, and Buddy Whittington have passed through the ranks in more recent times.     

Bill Dahl
Chicago, Illinois

Electric Blues 1939-2005. - The Definitive Collection!


Review 0
Read, write and discuss reviews... more
Customer evaluation for "A Hard Road"
Write an evaluation
Evaluations will be activated after verification.
Please enter the digits and letters in the following text field.

The fields marked with * are required.

Weitere Artikel von John Mayall
Blues Breakers
John Mayall: Blues Breakers Art-Nr.: CD8448272

Item must be ordered

$18.23 * $8.48 *
Nobody Told Me (CD)
John Mayall: Nobody Told Me (CD) Art-Nr.: CDFBR022

Item must be ordered

$21.89 *
Live in 1967- Volume 2 (CD)
John Mayall: Live in 1967- Volume 2 (CD) Art-Nr.: CDFBR013

Item must be ordered

$20.67 *
Talk About That (CD)
John Mayall: Talk About That (CD) Art-Nr.: CDFBR015

Item must be ordered

$19.45 *
Get Out Blues!
Mojo Blues Band: Get Out Blues! Art-Nr.: CD0000821

Item must be ordered

The Whole Truth
NULISCH, Darrell: The Whole Truth Art-Nr.: CD00032

Item must be ordered

All Night Long (CD)
Big Joe Maher & The Dynaflows: All Night Long (CD) Art-Nr.: CD0009

Ready to ship today, delivery time** appr. 1-3 workdays

$10.91 $21.89
Sputnik Cafe
ROCKIN' HIGHLINERS: Sputnik Cafe Art-Nr.: CD0018

Item must be ordered

$12.13 $20.43
Mayall, John - A Hard Road CD 1
01 A Hard Road
02 It's Over
03 You Don't Love Me
04 The Stumble
05 Another Kinda Love
06 Hit The Highway
07 Leaping Christine
08 Dust My Blues
09 There's Always Work
10 The Same Way
11 The Super-Natural
12 Top Of The Hill
13 Someday After A While
14 Living Alone
15 Looking Back
16 So Many Roads
17 Mama, Talk To Your Daughter
18 Alabama Blues
19 All My Life
20 Ridin' On The L&N
21 Eagle Eye
22 Little By Little
23 Sitting In The Rain
24 Out Of Reach
25 No More Tears
26 Ridin' On The L&N
27 Sitting In The Rain
28 Leaping Christine