Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 50,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

DELLS Anthology 2-CD

catalog number: CD545106

weight in Kg 0,200


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

Instead of: $32.35 * (50.08 % Saved)
$16.15 *

DELLS: Anthology 2-CD

For the first time all their hits - digitally remastered with 16 page booklet - 36 tracks


Dells, The - Anthology 2-CD CD 1
1: Darling I Know (THE EL-RAYS)
2: Dreams Of Contentment
3: Oh, What A Nite
4: Pains In My Heart
5: The (Bossa Nova) Bird
6: Stay In My Corner
7: O-O I Love You
8: There Is
9: Wear It On Our Face
10: Love Is So Simple
11: Stay In My Corner
12: Always Together
13: Does Anybody Know I'm Here?
14: I Can't Do Enough
15: I Can Sing A Rainbow/Love Is Blue
16: Oh, What A Night
17: Open Up My Heart (long version)
18: Long Lonely Nights
19: Oh, What A Day
20: The Love We Had (Stays On My Mind)
21: The Glory Of Love
Dells, The - Anthology 2-CD CD 2
1: Give Your Baby A Standing Ovation
2: My Pretending Days Are Over
3: I Miss You
4: I Wish It Was Me You Loved
5: Learning To Love You Was Easy
6: We Got To Get Our Thing Together
7: Slow Motion
8: Our Love
9: Betcha Never Been Loved (Like This Before)
10: Private Property
11: Super Woman
12: I Touched A Dream
13: Passionate Breezes
14: Stay In My Corner
15: A Heart Is A House For Love


Artikeleigenschaften von DELLS: Anthology 2-CD

  • Interpret: DELLS

  • Albumtitel: Anthology 2-CD

  • Format CD
  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre R&B, Soul
  • Music Style Vocal Groups / Doo Wop
  • Music Sub-Genre 255 Vocal Groups/Doo Wop
  • Title Anthology 2-CD

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Classic R&B

  • EAN: 0731454510622

  • weight in Kg 0.200

Artist description "Dells, The"

The Dells

Dry Your Eyes

The charts didn't reflect it yet, but The Dells would reign as one of Chicago's top R&B vocal groups for several decades to come. Hailing from south suburban Harvey, Illinois, the quintet had only tallied one national hit for Vee-Jay Records, the scrumptious ballad Oh, What A Nite (it's on our 1956 volume), but that didn't reflect the sky-high quality of their Vee-Jay catalog.

The group boasted two exceptional leads; tenor Johnny Funches handled ballads with an airy, floating beauty, while melismatic baritone Marvin Junior punched the up-tempo stuff home with gruff intensity. Tenors Verne Allison and Mickey McGill and bass Chuck Barksdale completed the lineup.

Cut April 18, 1958, the delicate Funches-led ballad Dry Your Eyes, an Allison composition, was another Dells gem, though they didn't technically exist when Vee-Jay finally got around to pressing it up in September of '59 with a jumping Junior-led Baby, Open Up Your Heart that McGill wrote on the other side. The group had been involved in a late '58 auto accident on the Ohio Turnpike; McGill's leg was broken in three places, leading him to abandon the road. Allison went to New York; Barksdale joined Harvey Fuqua's new Moonglows with Marvin Gaye, and Junior and Funches toiled at a local steel mill. Happily, The Dells regrouped in 1960 apart from Johnny, who retired from singing for good. They found a sterling replacement: ex-Flamingos first tenor Johnny Carter, who gave the quintet a new falsetto top end. Junior emerged as the quintet's powerhouse principal front man.

Stylistically, The Dells progressed with Carter in the ranks. They got into modern harmony, singing jazz and backing no less than Dinah Washington on a couple of her '61 Mercury sessions. After a brief 1960 return to Vee-Jay, the group jumped over to Chess' Argo subsidiary and continued working toward a longterm bout with stardom that would finally ignite in the latter half of the '60s.

- Bill Dahl -

Various Street Corner Symphonies 1959 Vol.11

Read more at:

Copyright © Bear Family Records



Presseartikel über DELLS - Anthology 2-CD
Customer evaluation "Anthology 2-CD"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "DELLS: Anthology 2-CD"

The fields marked with * are required.