Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 50,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

DELFONICS 40 Classic Soul Sides (2-CD)

40 Classic Soul Sides (2-CD)
Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDRGM0480

weight in Kg 0,110


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

$21.55 *

DELFONICS: 40 Classic Soul Sides (2-CD)

(2016/Real Gone) 40 tracks 19696-1972 with 16 page booklet.
Here is (by far) the biggest anthology ever afforded the trio that pioneered the Philadelphia Sound, The Delfonics, featuring 40 sweetly soulful tracks, most of 'em recorded under the watchful eye of the great Thom Bell and featuring the potent songwriting team of Bell and lead singer William Hart. In fact, this collection is so comprehensive that it's missing only six tracks from the group's four classic Philly Groove studio albums, and has thrown on three non-LP sides to boot! All beautifully remastered by Vic Anesini at Battery Studios in New York. And for an extra special treat, Joe Marchese's notes include exclusive quotes from Thom Bell, William Hart, and legendary Philly Soul sideman Bobby Eli. Undeniably definitive Delfonics!.

Super Philadephia Sound



Delfonics - 40 Classic Soul Sides (2-CD) CD 1
1: La-La Means I Love You
2: Can't Get Over Losing You
3: I'm Sorry
4: You Are Gone
5: Break Your Promise
6: Alfie
7: The Shadow of Your Smile
8: The Look of Love
9: Can You Remember
10: A Lover's Concerto
11: Hurt So Bad
12: Ready or Not Here I Come (Can't Hide from Love)
13: Somebody Loves You
14: Let It Be Me
15: Hot Dog (I Love You So)
16: Ain't That Peculiar
17: With These Hands
18: Face It Girl, It's Over
19: Going Out of My Head
20: Everytime I See My Baby
Delfonics - 40 Classic Soul Sides (2-CD) CD 2
1: Delfonics Theme (How Could You)
2: Funny Feeling
3: My New Love
4: You've Got Yours and I'll Get Mine
5: You Can't Be Loving Him
6: Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time)
7: Down Is Up, Up Is Down
8: Trying to Make a Fool of Me
9: Baby I Love You
10: When You Get Right Down to It
11: I Gave to You
12: Over and Over
13: Think About Me
14: Hey! Love
15: Walk Right Up to the Sun
16: Round & Round
17: Tell Me This Is a Dream
18: I'm a Man
19: Baby I Miss You
20: Delfonics Theme


Artikeleigenschaften von DELFONICS: 40 Classic Soul Sides (2-CD)

  • Interpret: DELFONICS

  • Albumtitel: 40 Classic Soul Sides (2-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Title 40 Classic Soul Sides (2-CD)
  • Release date 2016
  • Label REAL GONE

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Soul

  • EAN: 0848064004806

  • weight in Kg 0.110

Artist description "Delfonics"

The Delfonics

Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time)

The Delfonics

Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time)



The swirling, silky Philly soul sound hit its stride in considerable part due to the sumptuous balladry of The Delfonics. Lead tenor William 'Poogie' Hart (born January 17, 1945 in Washington, D.C.) was their own best source of material. "I did a lot of listening to Smokey Robinson, a lot of listening to Curtis Mayfield," says Hart. "I realized they wrote their own songs. So I began to write my own songs." Their unusual three-man lineup was completed by his brother Wilbert and Randy Cain. "I said, 'Well, three people can get the job done. You don't need all these guys,'" he says.

Entranced by the high-pitched leads of Frankie Lymon and Little Anthony, Hart had his first vocal group at 14. Several name changes solidified with The Orphonics, until Stan Watson heard him sing at the barber shop where Hart worked. "He's listening to these songs that I wrote," says Hart. "He said, 'Man, do you want to record?' I said, 'Yeah, I want to record!' He said, 'Well, let me introduce you to Thommy Bell!'" Philly producer-arranger Bell would team with Hart to write a string of hits for The Delfonics after Watson, a Dell-Vikings fan, changed their moniker one last time.

The Delfonics' first two singles for Moon Shot and Cameo didn't hit, so Watson launched his own Philly Groove imprint, nationally distributed through Amy/Mala/Bell. The group's first Philly Groove single, La-La—Means I Love You, was a massive 1968 crossover smash. "My son, William Hart, Jr., would always say, 'La-la-la-la-la-la-la,'" says Hart. "I told my wife, 'I think he's trying to say he loves me!'"  Hart's tender lyrics and stratospheric lead tenor and Bell's musical brilliance translated into a solid string of hits: I'm Sorry, Break Your Promise, and Ready Or Not Here I Come (Can't Hide From Love) later in the year and You Got Yours And I Got Mine in '69.

The lavishly orchestrated Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time), another Hart/Bell collaboration, sailed to #3 R&B and #10 pop. Poogie shared its lead with Wilbert, born October 19, 1947 in Philly."'Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time)' was based around a situation with a friend of mine that I saw that was having a problem with his girlfriend," says Poogie. "He finally got himself back together, and he was telling me the story. And I went home and wrote a song about 'Didn't I (Blow Your Mind).'" He takes full credit for the stately French horn intro. "I used to go to a lot of Biblical movies," he says. "You remember when they used to blow the horn, and then the horses would come running down the hill, and everybody would start fighting? When I started doing my music, I remembered that, and I never heard that in a song."

The Delfonics kept on scoring hits for Philly Groove into 1974, long after Bell split to concentrate on The Stylistics and Spinners. "I was a very romantic kind of guy," says Hart. "I didn't mind crying when something hurt me. In that way, I could feel free to write was inside of me." Poogie continues to front a contemporary lineup of Delfonics.

- Bill Dahl -

Various - Blowing The Fuse 1959

Various - Sweet Soul Music 24 Scorching Classics From 1970

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über DELFONICS - 40 Classic Soul Sides (2-CD)
Customer evaluation "40 Classic Soul Sides (2-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "DELFONICS: 40 Classic Soul Sides (2-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.