Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Ray Charles Rockin' With Ray - The Original Recordings 1949-1962 (2-CD)

Rockin' With Ray - The Original Recordings 1949-1962 (2-CD)
Star Rating (1)
Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDSCCD2491

weight in Kg 0,120

Instead of: $18.82 * (37.62 % Saved)
$11.74 *

Ray Charles: Rockin' With Ray - The Original Recordings 1949-1962 (2-CD)

Video von Ray Charles - Rockin' With Ray - The Original Recordings 1949-1962 (2-CD)

(2013/Smith) 55 tracks, essential collection of the early rockin' tracks 1949-1963. Includes 14 page booklet of notes by Randy Travis.
'Just About As Good As It Gets!' Series

Hallelujah I Love Her So



Ray Charles - Rockin' With Ray - The Original Recordings 1949-1962 (2-CD) Medium 1
1: What I'd Say
2: I've Got A Woman
3: Get On The Right Track
4: It Should've Been Me
5: Heartbreaker
6: Talkin' 'bout You
7: Mess Around
8: Hallelujah I Love Her So
9: Tell All The World About You
10: Leave My Woman Alone
11: (Night Time) Is The Right Time
12: Let The Good Times Roll
13: I'm Movin' On
14: Early In The Morning
15: I Want To Know
16: This Litztle Girl Of Mine
17: Don't You Know
18: Jumpin' In The Mornin'
19: You Be My baby
20: Rockhouse Parts
21: Greenbacks
22: Roll With My baby
23: Yes Indeed
24: Lonely Avenue
25: Blues Hangover
26: Kissa Me Baby
27: Hey Now
28: Ain't That Fine
29: Guitar Blues
Ray Charles - Rockin' With Ray - The Original Recordings 1949-1962 (2-CD) Medium 2
1: Sticks And Stones
2: Unchain My Heart
3: Hit The Road Jack
4: Who You Gonna Love  
5: You Are My Sunshine  
6: Hide Nor Hair  
7: At The Club  
8: Them That Got  
9: One Mint Julep  
10: New York's My Home  
11: Basin Street Blues  
12: But On the Other Hand baby  
13: Mary Ann  
14: I Got A Break Baby  
15: Georgia On My Mind  
16: Bye Bye Love  
17: I Can't Stop Loving You  
18: Careless Love  
19: Chattanooga Choo Choo  
20: Carry Me Back To Old Virginny  
21: Worried Life Blues  
22: A Fool For You  
23: Ain't That Love  
24: Drown In My Own Tears  
25: What'd I Say  


Artikeleigenschaften von Ray Charles: Rockin' With Ray - The Original Recordings 1949-1962 (2-CD)

  • Interpret: Ray Charles

  • Albumtitel: Rockin' With Ray - The Original Recordings 1949-1962 (2-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre Rhythm & Blues
  • Music Style Rhythm & Blues
  • Music Sub-Genre 251 Rhythm & Blues
  • Title Rockin' With Ray (2-CD)
  • Release date 2013
  • Label SMITH & CO

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Classic R&B

  • EAN: 8718053744919

  • weight in Kg 0.120

Artist description "Charles, Ray"

Ray Charles

Ray Charles

Losing Hand

(Charles Calhoun)

Atlantic 1037


Ray Charles had only recently joined the roster of Atlantic Records when he waxed the mournful blues Losing Hand on May 17, 1953 with a New York session crew consisting of saxists Dave McRae, Freddie Mitchell, and Pinky Williams, bassist Lloyd Trotman, drummer Connie Kay, and guitarist Mickey Baker, whose slippery chords cascade downward like thick, murky molasses. Brother Ray didn't use a guitarist on his subsequent Atlantic sides, making Baker's presence quite unusual (arranger Jesse Stone wrote the song under his alias of Charles Calhoun). Ray had yet to explode with his groundbreaking gospel/blues synthesis, although his impassioned vocal and two-fisted piano offered clues as to his immediate future.

"He still was being recorded in the conventional way, like you'd record almost any single singing artist," said Ray's late co-producer, Jerry Wexler. "We got the backing musicians, we got the arranger Jesse Stone, we rehearsed, and so on."

Born in Albany, Georgia on September 23, 1930 but raised in Greenville, Florida, Ray Charles Robinson lost his sight as a child but gained a love for music—blues, boogie-woogie, jazz, country—that was unshakable. He left the state school for the blind at 15, his piano skills already formidable, and somehow made his way cross-country from Jacksonville, Florida to Seattle. Jack Lauderdale of Swing Time/Down Beat Records brought Charles and his McSon Trio aboard in 1949. His first release was a hit and two more after that too, though his predilection for imitating Nat King Cole and Charles Brown hadn't been tamed yet.

Swing Time was experiencing financial difficulties in 1952, so Lauderdale peddled Charles' contract to Atlantic. There Ray would transform R&B with his daring gospel/blues synthesis on the smashes I've Got A Woman, Hallelujah I Love Her So, and What'd I Say (speaking of advancements in electric instrumentation, he played a Wurlitzer piano on the latter). His sessions were like no other at Atlantic.

"They were exciting, edifying, thrilling," said Wexler. "We're talking about Ray Charles. There were no downers. I mean, there was never anything negative or worrying, because Ray Charles had the whole thing figured out from beginning to end. And so, as would be the case with many other sessions, when there had to be some direction from us because we weren't going anywhere, or some changes to be made, that wasn't the case with Ray."

Of course, Ray's ceaseless musical experiments rendered him a superstar right up to his June 10, 2004 death. No wonder they called him a genius.

- Bill Dahl -
Chicago, Illinois


Electric Blues 1939-2005. - The Definitive Collection!

Presseartikel über Ray Charles - Rockin' With Ray - The Original Recordings 1949-1962 (2-CD)
Customer evaluation "Rockin' With Ray - The Original Recordings 1949-1962 (2-CD)"
Average customer evaluation
Star Rating
(from 1 customer evaluations)
From: Stephan 2017-07-14 13:18:07

hab auch den Film gesehen super

alle rock nummern drauf war in 2 Tagen hier danke

Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Ray Charles: Rockin' With Ray - The Original Recordings 1949-1962 (2-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.