Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 50,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band Safe As Milk

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: SLP5460

weight in Kg 0,300


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

Instead of: $23.71 * (20 % Saved)
$18.97 *

Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band: Safe As Milk

(2013/SUNDAZED) 18 tracks - 180 Gram Mono Edition Pressed at RTI!

Captain Beefheart’s 1967 debut album Safe As Milk introduced the world to a one-of-a-kind visionary whose unique output had no precedent in contemporary music. Beefheart, aka Don Van Vliet, filtered the raw influence of the blues and R&B through his own singular musical sensibility and left-field lyrical wordplay, and surrounded himself with some of the most talented and inventive young musicians around. The result was an album that, even in the heady year in which it was released, sounded like nothing else, and the stage for one of rock’s most iconoclastic and idiosyncratic careers. With backup from the first, and perhaps finest, incarnation of Beefheart’s legendary Magic Band (including future solo star Ry Cooder on guitar and teenage drum prodigy John “Drumbo” French), and production from future studio superstar Richard Perry, Beefheart unveils his fully-formed sound and vision on such landmark tracks as “Zig Zag Wanderer,” “Abba Zaba,” “Dropout Boogie,” “I’m Glad” and “Electricity” (covered two decades later by Sonic Youth).

Now released on LP and CD by Sundazed Music, this landmark album now sounds the way it was meant to sound, thanks to the restoration of Perry’s rare original—and, to most fans, superior—mono mix, which was later altered by Beefheart’s label without the artist’s involvement. Both the LP and CD version of this definitive edition feature authoritative new liner notes by Rolling Stone editor and longtime Beefheart enthusiast David Fricke. “In mono, Safe As Milk is a powerful, concentrated revelation,” Fricke writes, further noting, “Safe As Milk promised comfort, exotic nourishment and rude health—and delivered. Created in a year rich in historic debuts and transformative statements about rock’s dynamic and expressive possibilities, Safe As Milk was so far in it was out.”


Captain Beefheart - Safe As Milk LP 1
1: Sure 'Nuff 'N Yes I Do
2: Zig Zag Wanderer
3: Call On Me
4: Dropout Boogie
5: I'm Glad
6: Electricity
7: Yellow Brick Road
8: Abba Zaba
9: Plastic Factory
10: Where There's Woman
11: Grown So Ugly
12: Autumn's Child


Artikeleigenschaften von Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band: Safe As Milk

  • Interpret: Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band

  • Albumtitel: Safe As Milk

  • Format LP
  • Genre Rock 'n' Roll

  • Music Genre Rock 'n' Roll
  • Music Style Vinyl - Beat / Rock / 60s / 70s
  • Music Sub-Genre 557 Vinyl - Beat/Rock/60s/70s
  • Title Safe As Milk
  • Vinyl size LP (12 Inch)
  • Speed / RPM 33 U/min
  • Record Grading Mint (M)
  • Sleeve Grading Mint (M)
  • Release date 2013
  • Label SUNDAZED

  • Price code VLP7
  • SubGenre Beat 60s-70s

  • EAN: 0090771546012

  • weight in Kg 0.300

Artist description "Captain Beefheart"


Gegründet 1964 in Kalifornien.

Er ist ohne Zweifel eine der eigentümlichsten Musikerpersönlichkeiten, die die Rockszene aufweisen kann - Captain Beefheart alias Don Van Vliet, Dichter, Maler, Sänger, Mundharmonikaspieler, Saxophonist. Wenn man hört, dass für Captain Beefheart alles mit Frank Zappa begann, rundet sich der Kreis, denn wo sonst könnten Freaks sich so formieren, wie unter Franks Flügeln. 1963 zog Zappa mit seiner Schar in die Wüste, um einen Film zu drehen, dessen Hauptrolle Don als Captain Beefheart spielen sollte. Aus dem Film wurde nichts - aber musikalisch ging's danach für alle weiter. Zappa baute seine Mothers of lnvention auf, Don seine Magic Band, mit der er bisher 6 LPs einspielte, doch wissen Kenner mindestens noch von der gleichen Zahl unveröffentlichter Platten, die bei den verschiedensten Firmen in den Archiven liegen.

Seine Magic Band ist der Tummelplatz der seltsamsten Musiker mit den seltsamsten Instrumenten: da spielt Zoot Horn Rollo die „Glass Finger Guitar', und eine „steelappendage guitar', die vorher schon Antannae Jimmy Semens bis zu seinem Ausscheiden gespielt hatte. Rockette morton spielt den „Bassus Orphelius'. Zur Magic Band gehörte auch einmal„The Mascara Snake', Schwager von Captain Beefheart. Beefheart selbst, Sänger mit angeblich 7 Oktaven, der mit seinem Stimmvolumen und Umfang selbst die irrsten Popschreihälse zu piepsenden Mäuschen machen kann, brüllt, heult, grunzt vor diesem musikalischen Backing seine Songs ~ Klassiker allzumal, wie den „Dropout Boogie', den „Zig Zag Wanderer', „Beatle Bones N' Smoking Stones', den „Dachau Blues' oder den „Buggy Boogie Woogie'.

Original Presse-Info: Ariola Eurodisc GmbH

Presseartikel über Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band - Safe As Milk
Customer evaluation "Safe As Milk"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band: Safe As Milk"

The fields marked with * are required.

Robbins, Marty: Gunfighter...

Content: 1.0000

$26.95 *

Ryder, Mitch &...: Sock It To...

Content: 1.0000

$23.29 * Instead of: $29.11 *

Ryder, Mitch &...: Breakout...!...

Content: 1.0000

$23.29 * Instead of: $29.11 *