Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

CAMPBELL, Roy La Tierra del Fuego

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDDE469

weight in Kg 0,107


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

$18.57 *

CAMPBELL, Roy: La Tierra del Fuego

Roy Campbell is a very flexible jazzman; depending on what a particular situation calls for, he can either get into outside and avant-garde playing or stick to swinging, straight-ahead hard bop and post-bop. The trumpeter/flügelhornist's post-bop side prevails on his second Delmark session as a leader, La Tierra del Fuego, which was recorded in 1993 but sounds like it could have been recorded for Blue Note 30 years earlier. Campbell doesn't get into dissonant outside playing on this rewarding sophomore effort, which recalls the modal post-bop albums that Booker Little, Freddie Hubbard, and Lee Morgan provided for Blue Note in the 1960s. In fact, one of the tunes, "Booker's Lament," is a moving ode to Little, who was only 23 when he died in 1961. Because Little met such an untimely death, Campbell's piece is understandably melancholy and remorseful -- much like Hubbard's "Lament for Booker," which was also written for Little but should not be confused with the song on this album. Campbell also wrote most of the other material on La Tierra del Fuego, including the reflective "Charmaine," the exuberant "Straight on Up, Straight on Down," and the 17-minute, Spanish-flavored "La Tierra del Fuego Suite." Meanwhile, "Losaida" is an interesting number that successfully combines a bossa nova beat with a Middle Eastern-influenced melody. Thankfully, Campbell has sympathetic and insightful company; the noteworthy soloists include, among others, Zane Massey on tenor sax, Ricardo Strobert on alto sax and flute, Klass Hekman on bass sax, and Rahn Burton on piano. In Spanish, La Tierra del Fuego means The Land of Fire, and Campbell brings plenty of fire and passion to this consistently inspired CD.(AllMusic)


CAMPBELL, Roy - La Tierra del Fuego Medium 1
1: Jahne's Waltz  
2: Booker's Lament  
3: Straight On Up Straight On Down  
4: Charmaine  
5: La Tierra del Fuego Suite  
6: Losaida  
7: The Sermon  


Artikeleigenschaften von CAMPBELL, Roy: La Tierra del Fuego

  • Interpret: CAMPBELL, Roy

  • Albumtitel: La Tierra del Fuego

  • Format CD
  • Genre Jazz

  • Music Genre 969 Delmark Records Jazz
  • Music Style 969 Delmark Records Jazz
  • Music Sub-Genre 969 Delmark Records Jazz
  • Title La Tierra del Fuego
  • Label DELMARK

  • SubGenre Jazz - General

  • EAN: 4000127755704

  • weight in Kg 0.107
Presseartikel über CAMPBELL, Roy - La Tierra del Fuego
Customer evaluation "La Tierra del Fuego"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "CAMPBELL, Roy: La Tierra del Fuego"

The fields marked with * are required.