Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Ruth Brown The Chronological Vol.1 - 1949-1950 (CD)

The Chronological Vol.1 - 1949-1950 (CD)
Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDCLASS5003

weight in Kg 0,100

$18.82 *

Ruth Brown: The Chronological Vol.1 - 1949-1950 (CD)

(1949/50 'Atlantic') (63:21/22)


Ruth Brown - The Chronological Vol.1 - 1949-1950 (CD) Medium 1
1: Rain Is A Bringdown  
2: It's Raining  
3: So Long  
4: Hey Pretty Baby  
5: Love Me Baby  
6: I'll Get Along Somehow  
7: Happiness Is A Thing Called Joe  
8: Rocking Blues  
9: Someday  
10: Why  
11: It's All In Your Mind  
12: I Can Dream, Can't I  
13: Sentimental Journey  
14: Where Can I Go  
15: Dear Little Boy Of Mine  
16: Am I Making The Same Mistake Again  
17: Teardrops From My Eyes  
18: R.B. Blues  
19: I Know  
20: I Don't Want Nobody  
21: I'll Wait For You  
22: Standing On The Corner  


Artikeleigenschaften von Ruth Brown: The Chronological Vol.1 - 1949-1950 (CD)

  • Interpret: Ruth Brown

  • Albumtitel: The Chronological Vol.1 - 1949-1950 (CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre R&B / Soul
  • Music Style Rhythm 'n' Blues / R&B
  • Music Sub-Genre 930 Rhythm 'n' Blues
  • Title The Chronological Vol.1 - 1949-1950 (CD)
  • Release date 2001
  • Label CLASSICS

  • SubGenre R&B Music - General

  • EAN: 3307510500325

  • weight in Kg 0.100

Artist description "Brown, Ruth"

Ruth Brown

This Little Girl's Gone Rockin'

Ruth Brown

This Little Girl's Gone Rockin'

Ruth Brown acutely felt the changing times at Atlantic Records. She had been there since the label’s inauspicious launch, but saw that her champion, Herb Abramson, was sidelined and would soon be bought out. She didn’t get along as well with his replacement, Jerry Wexler, and felt that the label’s co-founder, Ahmet Ertegun, was becoming remote. One of the artists assigned to Herb Abramson was Bobby Darin, and it took some time for Abramson or anyone at Atlantic to know what to do with him. For Ruth, it was unusual enough just seeing a white performer on the label.

"I often came across him in the studio, trying out little things,” she wrote in her autobiography. “’I hear you’re a songwriter,’ I jived him one day. ‘Why don’t you write me a song?’ He did. It was ‘This Little Girl’s Gone Rockin’,’ and it was produced by two other ex-Brillers, Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller.” Most sources credit Wexler and Ertegun as A&R men on the session, but Ruth clearly remembers it differently.

A straightforward boogie woogie underpinned by Stoller on piano, it was highlighted by Everett Barksdale on guitar and the always distinctive King Curtis on tenor sax. Ruth damns it with faint praise in her autobiography, but it became her last major pop hit and one of her last R&B hits. Darin’s co-writer, incidentally, was Emanuel Kurtz aka Mann Curtis, who had begun cranking out songs in the early 1940s, and wrote the English words to Let It Be Me. Ruth’s long chart career was winding down, although she performs to this day. Darin’s other contribution to Ruth’s tenure at Atlantic was to advise her to audit the label for unpaid royalties.


Various - Blowing The Fuse 1958 - Classics That Rocked The Jukebox

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records


Presseartikel über Ruth Brown - The Chronological Vol.1 - 1949-1950 (CD)
Customer evaluation "The Chronological Vol.1 - 1949-1950 (CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Ruth Brown: The Chronological Vol.1 - 1949-1950 (CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.

Various: Rare 60's...

Content: 1.0000

$18.82 *

Brown, Ruth: The Platinum...

Content: 1.0000

$9.38 * Instead of: $17.64 *