Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

James Brown The Singles - The Federal Years 1956-60 (2-CD)

The Singles - The Federal Years 1956-60 (2-CD)
Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDHIP7029

weight in Kg 0,200

$58.44 *

James Brown: The Singles - The Federal Years 1956-60 (2-CD)

(2006/Hip-O Select) 41 tracks (105:36) 1956-60. Limited Edition. Comes with 28-page booklet.

now very rare volume 1 of this great series - including his rockers



James Brown - The Singles - The Federal Years 1956-60 (2-CD) Medium 1
1: Please, Please, Please  
2: Why Do You Do Me  
3: I Don't Know  
4: I Feel That Old Feeling Coming On  
5: No, No, No, No  
6: Hold My Baby's Hand  
7: I Won't Plead No More  
8: Chonnie-On-Chon  
9: Just Won't Do Right  
10: Let's Make It  
11: Gonna Try  
12: Can't Be The Same  
13: Messing With The Blues  
14: Love Or A Game  
15: You're Mine, You're Mine  
16: I Walked Alone  
17: That Dood It  
18: Baby Cries Over The Ocean  
19: Begging, Begging  
20: That's When I Lost My Heart  
21: Try Me (demo)  
James Brown - The Singles - The Federal Years 1956-60 (2-CD) Medium 2
1: Try Me  
2: Tell Me What I Did Wrong  
3: I Want You So Bad  
4: There Must Be A Reason  
5: I've Got To Change  
6: It Hurts To Tell You  
7: I've Got To Change (stereo vers.)  
8: It Hurts To Tell You (stereo vers.)  
9: Doodle Bee  
10: Bucket Head  
11: It Was You  
12: Got To Cry  
13: Good Good Lovin'  
14: Don't Let It Happen To Me  
15: I'll Go Crazy  
16: I Know It's True  
17: Think  
18: You've Got The Power (& BEA FORD)  
19: This Old Heart  
20: Wonder When You're Coming Home  


Artikeleigenschaften von James Brown: The Singles - The Federal Years 1956-60 (2-CD)

  • Interpret: James Brown

  • Albumtitel: The Singles - The Federal Years 1956-60 (2-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre Soul
  • Music Style Soul
  • Music Sub-Genre 254 Soul
  • Title Singles-The Federal Years 1956-60 (2-CD)Ltd.
  • Release date 2006
  • Label HIP-O SELECT

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Soul

  • EAN: 0602517000575

  • weight in Kg 0.200

Artist description "Brown, James"

James Brown with JB's

Always one of soul music‘s leading innovators and by his own nomination The Hardest Working Man in Show Business, James Brown had many a brainstorm. One of the lesser-remembered was the three-part single.

Two-siders were commonplace, but JB’s funk-dripping jams often went so long that they were pressed up on singles in three parts: Part 1 as the A-side, the other two squeezed onto side B. Soul Brother Number 1 used the gimmick on his 1970 R&B chart-topper Super Bad, and he brought it back for Soul Power, cut during an all-night session on January 26, 1971 at Rodel Studios in Washington, D.C. (Brown’s organization was hunkered down at Loew‘s Palace Theater there).

Brown’s band had changed drastically since the days of Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag and Cold Sweat. Saxist Maceo Parker, guitarist Jimmy Nolen, and drummer Clyde Stubblefield had all defected. In their place was a crew that featured brothers Phelps ‘Catfish‘ Collins and William ‘Bootsy‘ Collins driving the funk on guitar and bass. They were abetted by a core group of trusted Brown vets: drummer John ‘Jabo‘ Starks, tenor saxist St. Clair Pinckney, Bobby Byrd on organ and spirited responsorial vocals, and trombonist Fred Wesley, who had been gone for a while but returned to the fold to whip the newcomers into shape.

The Godfather of Soul’s legion of fans didn’t even notice all the uproar in James‘ organization. He started 1971 with the #4 R&B seller Get Up, Get Into It, Get Involved (Part 1) prior to the release of Soul Power, which blasted up to #3 R&B and #29 pop that spring (Wesley stepped out for an extended solo on Part 2, taking Maceo’s place as Brown’s instrumental foil). Over the course of the summer, Brown topped the R&B hit parade twice, with Part 1 of Hot Pants (She Got To Use What She Got, To Get What She Wants) (his biggest pop crossover item of the year, maxing out at #15), and Part 1 of Make It Funky.

By spring, the Collins brothers were off Brown’s payroll, itching to do their own thing and ending up with George Clinton’s Parliament-Funkadelic. James plugged in more talented young players and kept on dishing up the funk. Nobody did it better. 

Various Sweet Soul Music 26 Scorching Classics 1971
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über James Brown - The Singles - The Federal Years 1956-60 (2-CD)
Customer evaluation "The Singles - The Federal Years 1956-60 (2-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "James Brown: The Singles - The Federal Years 1956-60 (2-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.

Brown, James: The Singles...

Content: 1.0000

$29.19 *

Brown, James: Papa's Got A...

Content: 1.0000

$15.15 * Instead of: $15.15 *

Brown, James: Sings Raw...

Content: 1.0000

$35.04 *

Drifters, The: The...

Content: 1.0000

$11.64 * Instead of: $17.49 *

Meyer, Russ: Original...

Content: 1.0000

$21.00 *