Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

James Brown Get on Up: The James Brown Story - Soundtrack (2-LP)

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: LP2147601

weight in Kg 0,500


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

$52.59 *

James Brown: Get on Up: The James Brown Story - Soundtrack (2-LP)

(2014/Polydor) 20 tracks.
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack to the 2014 Tate Taylor (the Help) directed movie based on the incredible life story of the Godfather of Soul, the movie Gives a fearless look inside the music, moves & moods of Brown, Taking audiences on the journey from His His impoverished childhood to evolution Into one of the Most Influential figures of the 20th century. The soundtrack features studio & live versions of; many of Brown's hits-from His First 1956's "Please Please Please" to "Out Of Sight," "I Got You (I Feel Good)," "Try Me," "Papa's Got A Brand New Bag, "" It's A Man's Man's Man's World, "&" Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex machine. "Also includes two previously unreleased live recordings Heard in the film; "Please Please Please" and "It's A Man's Man's Man's World" Were Recorded at the historic Fort Homer W. Hesterly Armory in Tampa, Florida on April 23, 1966 Brown WAS inducted Into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in ace 1986 charter member. A multiple Grammy Award winner, Brown honored with WAS the Recording Academy's Lifetime Achievement Award in 1992, in 2003 he received the exotic and prestigious Kennedy Center Honors. Brown died on Christmas Day 2006 at the age of 73.

(2014/Polydor) 20 tracks.



James Brown - Get on Up: The James Brown Story - Soundtrack (2-LP) Medium 1
1: Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine -  
2: Cold Sweat, Pt 1 -  
3: Mother Popcorn, Pt 1 -  
4: I Got The Feelin' (Live) -  
5: I Can't Stand Myself (When You Touch Me) (Live) -  
6: Say It Loud-I'm Black And I'm Proud, Pt 1 -  
7: Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine (Live) -  
8: Super Bad (Live) -  
9: Soul Power (Live) -  
10: Try Me (Live) -  
11: Please Please Please -  
12: The Payback Pt 1 -  
13: Get Up Offa That Thing -  
14: Out Of Sight -  
15: I Got You (I Feel Good) -  
16: Caldonia -  
17: Please Please Please (Live) -  
18: Night Train (Live) -  
19: Papa's Got A Brand New Bag, Pt 1 -  


Artikeleigenschaften von James Brown: Get on Up: The James Brown Story - Soundtrack (2-LP)

  • Interpret: James Brown

  • Albumtitel: Get on Up: The James Brown Story - Soundtrack (2-LP)

  • Format LP
  • Genre Soundtracks & Musicals

  • Music Genre Soundtracks & Musicals
  • Music Style Vinyl - Soundtracks
  • Music Sub-Genre 565 Vinyl - Soundtracks
  • Title Get on Up: The James Brown Story - Soundtrack (2-LP)
  • Vinyl size LP (12 Inch)
  • Speed / RPM 33 U/min
  • Record Grading Mint (M)
  • Sleeve Grading Mint (M)
  • Release date 2014
  • Label POLYDOR

  • SubGenre Soundtracks - General

  • EAN: 0602537961122

  • weight in Kg 0.500

Artist description "Brown, James"

James Brown with JB's

Always one of soul music‘s leading innovators and by his own nomination The Hardest Working Man in Show Business, James Brown had many a brainstorm. One of the lesser-remembered was the three-part single.

Two-siders were commonplace, but JB’s funk-dripping jams often went so long that they were pressed up on singles in three parts: Part 1 as the A-side, the other two squeezed onto side B. Soul Brother Number 1 used the gimmick on his 1970 R&B chart-topper Super Bad, and he brought it back for Soul Power, cut during an all-night session on January 26, 1971 at Rodel Studios in Washington, D.C. (Brown’s organization was hunkered down at Loew‘s Palace Theater there).

Brown’s band had changed drastically since the days of Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag and Cold Sweat. Saxist Maceo Parker, guitarist Jimmy Nolen, and drummer Clyde Stubblefield had all defected. In their place was a crew that featured brothers Phelps ‘Catfish‘ Collins and William ‘Bootsy‘ Collins driving the funk on guitar and bass. They were abetted by a core group of trusted Brown vets: drummer John ‘Jabo‘ Starks, tenor saxist St. Clair Pinckney, Bobby Byrd on organ and spirited responsorial vocals, and trombonist Fred Wesley, who had been gone for a while but returned to the fold to whip the newcomers into shape.

The Godfather of Soul’s legion of fans didn’t even notice all the uproar in James‘ organization. He started 1971 with the #4 R&B seller Get Up, Get Into It, Get Involved (Part 1) prior to the release of Soul Power, which blasted up to #3 R&B and #29 pop that spring (Wesley stepped out for an extended solo on Part 2, taking Maceo’s place as Brown’s instrumental foil). Over the course of the summer, Brown topped the R&B hit parade twice, with Part 1 of Hot Pants (She Got To Use What She Got, To Get What She Wants) (his biggest pop crossover item of the year, maxing out at #15), and Part 1 of Make It Funky.

By spring, the Collins brothers were off Brown’s payroll, itching to do their own thing and ending up with George Clinton’s Parliament-Funkadelic. James plugged in more talented young players and kept on dishing up the funk. Nobody did it better. 

Various Sweet Soul Music 26 Scorching Classics 1971
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über James Brown - Get on Up: The James Brown Story - Soundtrack (2-LP)
Customer evaluation "Get on Up: The James Brown Story - Soundtrack (2-LP)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "James Brown: Get on Up: The James Brown Story - Soundtrack (2-LP)"

The fields marked with * are required.

Brown, James: Get on Up:...

Content: 1.0000

$22.17 *

Various: Reservoir...

Content: 1.0000

$32.70 *

Reed, Les: Girl On A...

Content: 1.0000

$29.19 *