Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

BAND Rock Of Ages (180g) (Limited Numbered Edition) 2-LP

catalog number: LPMFSL2348

weight in Kg 0,600


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$82.47 *

BAND: Rock Of Ages (180g) (Limited Numbered Edition) 2-LP

(2012/MFSL) 17 tracks.
This live recording of the New Year's Eve concert of 1971 was released the following year as a double LP and is now first introduced by MFSL as a Hybrid SACD. For the band it should be a culmination of her work for many years. Unlike on the studio albums, the band shows tremendous grip and playful with the active support of a brass sextet and celebrate their own and others compositions match of the year, as there is no tomorrow.

MFSL mastering engineer Shawn Britton has preferred shortcomings of the analog master tape not to hide for maximum authenticity to achieve it. The audience can expect a warm and partly in the long pedal passages almost getragner sound. One can only imagine all too well how it smelled on the stage of grass and the audience is always hilarious behaved with the approach to midnight.

The MFSL Re-Issue appears in the mini-LP cover with gold lettering and the enclosed booklet with photos of the concert. As always, a limited edition with continuous numbering.

(2012/MFSL) 17 tracks.



Band - Rock Of Ages (180g) (Limited Numbered Edition) 2-LP LP 1
1: Don't Do It
2: King Harvest (Has Surely Come)
3: Caledonia Mission
4: Get Up Jake
5: The WS Walcott Medicine Show
6: Stage Fright
7: The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
8: Across The Great Divide
9: This Wheel's On Fire
10: Rag Mama Rag
11: The Weight
12: The Shape
13: Unfaithful Servant
14: Life Is A Carnival
15: The Genetic Method
16: Chest Fever
17: My Rock And Roll Shoes (I Don't Want To) Hang Up


Artikeleigenschaften von BAND: Rock Of Ages (180g) (Limited Numbered Edition) 2-LP

  • Interpret: BAND

  • Albumtitel: Rock Of Ages (180g) (Limited Numbered Edition) 2-LP

  • Format LP
  • Genre Rock 'n' Roll

  • Music Genre Rock 'n' Roll
  • Music Style Vinyl - Beat / Rock / 60s / 70s
  • Music Sub-Genre 557 Vinyl - Beat/Rock/60s/70s
  • Edition 2
  • Title Rock Of Ages (180g) (Limited Numbered Edition) 2-LP
  • Vinyl size LP (12 Inch)
  • Vinyl weight 180g Vinyl
  • Speed / RPM 33 U/min
  • Record Grading Mint (M)
  • Sleeve Grading Mint (M)
  • Release date 2012
  • Label MFSL

  • SubGenre Beat 60s-70s

  • EAN: 0821797234818

  • weight in Kg 0.600

Artist description "Band"

The Band

Cryin' Heart Blues

This is a cheat. Recorded for The Band's 1973 covers project, 'Moondog Matinee,' it went unreleased until archivist Cheryl Pawelski appended it to the 2001 reissue. It was the only country song on the slate, and one especially beloved of Rick Danko, who recorded it again in 1978. Talking about the album years later, Levon Helm cast a worthy project in an unflattering light. "That was all we could do at the time," he said. "We couldn't get along - we all knew that fairness was a bunch of shit. We all knew we were getting screwed, so we couldn't sit down and create no more music. 'Up On Cripple Creek' and all that stuff was over - all that collaboration was over, and that type of song [covers] was all we could do." There was a rock 'n' roll revival in full swing by '73, spurred by the success of American Graffiti that year. The following year, ABC-TV started the ghastly, long-running Happy Days. 'Moondog Matinee' played into all that, but sidestepped it with tough renderings of the originals. Radio would have preferred slathering them in gooey nostalgia. At first, the idea was to do songs from the group's set list when they were barnstorming around Canada as the Hawks. Moondog, of course, was the nickname of legendary dee-jay Alan Freed, whose show beamed into Ontario from across the lake in Cleveland.


On the wraparound cover, Danko was pictured reading 'C&W Hits' so it was apposite that he tackled Johnnie & Jack's hillbilly standard Cryin' Heart Blues. The writer has always been notated as 'J. Brown,' but no one seems to know who he or she is. "We learned that song when we were working at WEAS [in Georgia]," Johnnie Wright told Eddie Stubbs. "The program director was named Warren Roberts. He had this song he wanted us to listen to. It was on sheet music, so I said, 'Well, you'll have to play it for us because we don't read music.' Warren…came out in the studio and got at the piano and played it for us." They recorded it in Atlanta, and it hit #5 on the country charts during the fall of 1951. Since then, like several other Johnnie & Jack tunes, Cryin' Heart Blues has become a bluegrass standard.

Various Truckers, Kickers, Cowboy Angels - The Blissed-Out Birth Of Country Rock, Vol. 6: 1973 (2-CD)
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über BAND - Rock Of Ages (180g) (Limited Numbered Edition) 2-LP
Customer evaluation "Rock Of Ages (180g) (Limited Numbered Edition) 2-LP"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "BAND: Rock Of Ages (180g) (Limited Numbered Edition) 2-LP"

The fields marked with * are required.

Little Feat: Little Feat

Content: 1.0000

$58.89 *