Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 50,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Link Wray Missing Links Vol.1 - Hillbilly Wolf (CD)

Missing Links Vol.1 - Hillbilly Wolf (CD)

catalog number: CDCED210

weight in Kg 0,100


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$32.35 *

Link Wray: Missing Links Vol.1 - Hillbilly Wolf (CD)

​(1997/Norton) 21 Tracks - Early recordings and rarities!


Wray, Link - Missing Links Vol.1 - Hillbilly Wolf (CD) CD 1
1: Teenage Cutie WRAY, Lucky
2: I Sez Baby
3: Johnny Bom Bonny
4: It's Music She Says WRAY, Lucky
5: Flirty Baby RAYMEN
6: Danger One Way Love VERNON, Ray
7: Hillbilly Wolf
8: Got Another Baby WRAY, Lucky
9: Turn Me Loose WRAY, Lucky
10: TV Baby WRAY, Lucky
11: I'm Countin' On You VERNON, Ray
12: Sleep Tight KID
13: I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Cry Over You
14: Roughshod
15: The Stranger
16: Boo Hoo RAINWATER, Marvin
17: Gotta Go Get My Baby VERNON, Ray
18: Flirty Baby #2 RAYMEN
19: Pancho Villa
20: Lawdy Miss Clawdy
21: Vendetta


Artikeleigenschaften von Link Wray: Missing Links Vol.1 - Hillbilly Wolf (CD)

  • Interpret: Link Wray

  • Albumtitel: Missing Links Vol.1 - Hillbilly Wolf (CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Rock 'n' Roll

  • Music Genre Rock 'n' Roll
  • Music Style Rock & Roll
  • Music Sub-Genre 201 Rock & Roll
  • Title Missing Links Vol.1 - Hillbilly Wolf (CD)
  • Release date 1997
  • Label NORTON

  • SubGenre Rock - Rock'n'Roll

  • EAN: 0731253021022

  • weight in Kg 0.100

Artist description "Wray, Link"


La De Da

recorded October 1970 at Wray's Shack Three Track, Accokeek, Maryland; Producers: Steve Verroca and Ray Vernon in association with Bob Feldman

with Lincoln 'Link' Wray: vocal/guitars/Dobro/bass; Billy Hodges: piano/organ/ backing vocal; Bobbie Howard: mandolin/piano; Doug Wray: drums/backing vocal; Steve Verroca: percussion/backing vocal

Polydor 24-4064 (LP)


Link Wray played the most important D chord in history: it opened Rumble. Guitarists often remember where they were when they first heard it. Thirteen years later, Wray signed with the newly-launched American division of Polydor, and his back porch sound could almost have emanated from another Link Wray. The extended Wray family was living almost communally on the family farm near Accokeek, Maryland, an hour south of Washington. "Papa started building a chicken coop and a porch on the house," Link told Tom Zito in 1971. "Then he built a room onto the porch, and then another room onto that and pretty soon it was all connected. Ray moved his three-track recorder into one of the rooms and we converted the coop into a studio, but the two were never connected so we still have to yell back and forth, 'Is it running, Ray?' every time we want to start."


One of Link's steady gigs was at the Two Thieves Club in suburban Maryland. There, he was heard by Steve Verocca, an Italian who'd come to the States in the wake of Volare, an Italian song he claimed to have produced in its original version by Domenico Modungo. "I was overwhelmed by [Link's] music," said Verroca. "Here was a man on-stage singing out his soul, so I asked him about recording an album and he told me about his past experiences, and I suggested we do it at the Shack. I believe the Shack has a soul. You can hear people burping on the record, and that's great. It's real." When Verroca had no success placing the LP, it was handed to Bob Feldman, who'd been in the Strangeloves and had produced the Angels' My Boyfriend's Back. Feldman had known Link when they were touring together in the late '50s, and was both moved and intrigued by the new record. "Every so often, magic happens," he said. Given the rights for ninety days, he placed the LP with the new American division of Polydor Records. Lyrically, Wray's new songs weren't especially strong, but the funky, organic vibe was compelling. If Rick Nelson's reinvention was still in character; Wray's was a complete 180 degree turn.

Various - Truckers, Kickers, Cowboy Angels Vol.04, The Blissed-Out Birth Of Country Rock 1971 (2-CD)

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records


Presseartikel über Link Wray - Missing Links Vol.1 - Hillbilly Wolf (CD)
Customer evaluation "Missing Links Vol.1 - Hillbilly Wolf (CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Link Wray: Missing Links Vol.1 - Hillbilly Wolf (CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.