Hotline: +49 (0) 47 48 / 82 16 0                              Ab 75 EUR versandkostenfrei innerhalb DeutschlandsMy Account | My Wish List

wiseman, mac: On Susan's Floor 4-CD Box & 60-Page Book

Genre:Classic Country Artists

Price-Code:Art.No.:BCD16736 EAN Nr.:4000127167361 Shipping Weight: 1.95kg

> Write first review
Ready for shipping
Delivery time 1-3 days**
94,41 €* EUR
*incl. VAT, plus Shipping

On Susan's Floor 4-CD Box & 60-Page Book
(4-CD Box Set, LP-size with 60-page hardcover book. 114 home of Bluegrass reissues! We did it first...and we do it best! Now here's the second installment of our MAC WISEMAN retrospective, including his ultra-rare recordings for Dot, Rural Rhythm, MGM, RCA, Churchill, and his own Wise Records! Backing musicians include the Osborne Brothers and Bluegrass stalwarts like Josh Graves ... all in top form! Photos from Mac himself, photographer Les Leverett and a detailed interview bring this amazing period of Bluegrass history to life!

These were, in many ways, MAC WISEMAN's golden years. He was bringing his music to a worldwide audience and recording many of the songs for which he became well known at home and overseas. This 4-CD retrospective of his career from 1965 to 1979 begins with his ultra-rare Canadian LP for his own Wise Records, featuring his first recordings of 'Molly Bawn' and 'Bringing Mary Home'. Then within the space of a few weeks he recorded a 20-song LP of vintage country, bluegrass, and folk songs for Rural Rhythm together with three conceptualized LPs for Dot, including a bluegrass LP with the OSBORNE BROTHERS. All are here complete, reissued for the first time.

After one single on MGM, Mac signed a long-term contract with RCA, and was produced by the legendary Cowboy Jack Clement. Under Jack's guidance, he recorded songs like 'On Susan's Floor', 'It Rains Just The Same In Missouri', and 'Wrinkled Crinkled Wadded Dollar Bill' as well as novelty songs like 'Johnny's Cash And Charley's Pride' and 'You Can't Go In The Red Playing Bluegrass'. At the same time, Mac was recording LPs that featured the best of Nashville's new songwriters together with established favorites from long ago.

As a postscript this box also includes Mac's recordings for Churchill Records between 1977 and 1979, featuring his hit single of 'My Blue Heaven' with big band leader Woody Herman, as well as some of the most challenging songs he ever recorded.

Today, Mac Wiseman is one of the few survivors from the early days of bluegrass. He connects the music to the folk and parlor songs that preceded it, and sings with the same unaffected sincerity. That's why so many generations know him as THE VOICE WITH A HEART.

In addition, this exclusive set includes 114 recordings, plus an extensive hardcover book with an essay by Colin Escott that includes interviews with Mac, as well as a complete discography and many previously unpublished photos.
wiseman, mac: On Susan's Floor 4-CD Box & 60-Page Book
Medium 1
001 Maple Sugar Sweetheart
002 Bringing Mary Home
003 Legend Of The Irish Rebel
004 The Ghost Of Bras D'or
005 Prince Edward Island Is Heaven To Me
006 What A Waste Of Good Cornlikker
007 My Nova Scotia Home
008 When Its Apple Blossom Time In Annapolis...
009 My Molly Bawn
010 Atlantic Lullaby
011 My Cape Breton Home
012 Pistol Packin' Preacher
013 Wreck Of The Old 97
014 Little Mohee
015 Corinna, Corinna
016 Sittin' On Top Of The World
017 How Many Biscuits Can You Eat
018 Ring Those Golden Bells
019 I Saw Your Face In The Moon
020 I'll Be All Smiles Tonight
021 The Waltz You Saved For Me
022 Just Over In The Gloryland
023 My Grandfather's Clock
024 Little Blossom
025 There's More Pretty Girls Than One
026 Rovin' Gambler
027 Sourwood Mountain
028 Midnight Special
029 Mary Of The Wildmoor
030 The Black Sheep
031 Bringing In The Georgia Mail
032 Turkey In The Straw
Medium 2
001 We Live In Two Different Worlds
002 Tragic Romance
003 I'll Be All Smiles Tonight
004 This Is Where I Came In
005 You're The Best Of All The Leading Brands
006 Don't Make Me Go To Bed And I'll Be Good
007 The Bluebirds Are Singing For Me
008 New Black Suit
009 How Lonely Can You Get
010 Since The Day You Went Away
011 Darling Little Joe
012 A Million, Million Girls
013 The Letter That Never Came
014 Wreck Of The C&O #5
015 The Black Sheep
016 The Legend Of The Haunted Woods
017 Put My Little Shoes Away
018 The Letter Edged In Black
019 Ballad Of The Lawson Family
020 The East Bound Train
021 My Mother's Old Sunbonnet
022 May I Sleep In Your Barn Tonight Mister
023 Molly Bawn
024 White Silver Sands
025 When It's Springtime In The Rockies
026 Little Bird
027 You're The Only Star In My Blue Heaven
Medium 3
001 A Maiden's Prayer
002 Just A Baby's Prayer At Twilight
003 At The Rainbow's End
004 Lonely City Park
005 This Is Where I Came In
006 Me And My Memory
007 The Isle Of Capri
008 Forever And Ever
009 Got Leavin' On Her Mind
010 She Simply Left
011 The Things You Have Turned To
012 Johnny's Cash And Charley's Pride
013 Mama, Put Your Little Shoes Away
014 Crystal Chandelier
015 All I Have To Offer You (Is Me)
016 Wrinkled, Crinkled, Wadded Dollar Bill
017 Ring Of Fire
018 Me And Bobby McGee
019 Ballad Of A Teenage Queen
020 Guess Things Happen That Way
021 The Day The World Stood Still
022 The Easy Part's Over
023 Big River
024 The Little Folks
025 Sweet Sadness
026 I'll Still Write Your Name In The Sand
027 I'd Rather Live By The Side Of The Road
028 Sing Little Birdie
029 Colours
Medium 4
001 Song Of The Wildwood
002 At The Crossroad
003 Let Time Be Your Friend
004 On Susan's Floor
005 Let's All Go Down To The River
006 Sunny Side Of The Mountain
007 Eight More Miles To Louisville
008 Keep On The Sunny Side
009 Will The Circle Be Unbroken
010 A Tragic Romance
011 It Rains Just The Same In Missouri
012 City Of New Orleans
013 Catfish John
014 You Can't Go In The Red Playin' Bluegrass
015 It Comes And Goes
016 Dixie Hummer
017 I've Got To Catch That Train
018 Never Going Back Again
019 Goodbye Mexico Rose
020 Dancing Bear
021 Scotch And Soda
022 Me And The Boys
023 Two Hundred Dollars
024 45s - 8x10s
025 My Blue Heaven (& WOODY HERMAN)
026 If I Could Be With You (It Must Be True) (&
Write Product Review
You have to be logged in to write a review.
No review available for this item.