Hotline: +49 (0) 47 48 / 82 16 0                              Ab 75 EUR versandkostenfrei innerhalb DeutschlandsMy Account | My Wish List

drifters: Rock

Genre:Bear Family - Rock'n'Roll

Price-Code:Art.No.:BCD17278 EAN Nr.:5397102172786 Shipping Weight: 0.2kg

2 Ratings
Ready for shipping
Delivery time 1-3 days**
16,49 €* *incl. VAT, plus Shipping

1-CD Digipak (6-plated) with 52-page booklet, 32 tracks. Playing time approx. 81 mns.

The finest black vocal group of all time on a long overdue compilation of their rock'n'roll classics. The original versions of songs like 'Money Honey', 'Such A Night' (recorded by Elvis Presley), 'Ruby Baby' and 'Drip Drop' (Top Ten hits for Dion). All told, 32 crucial rock 'n' roll tracks including solo singles by Bill Pinkney and Bobby Hendricks and several rarely heard alternative takes: just the stuff to enthral collectors. The chunky booklet contains a fresh biography by Bill Dahl and many newly published and amazingly candid photos. Yet another outstanding release in Bear Family's 'Rocks' series.

The Drifters are an institution. Very few vocal groups have remained popular for 60 years. In an area notable for its lack of consistency, the Drifters are conspicuous. This collection, compiled by Drifters biographer Bill Millar, gathers up all the Drifters rock'n'roll tracks between 1953 and 1963. There's a baker's dozen led by Clyde McPhatter, perhaps the greatest tenor voice in the history of R & B, and another 19 tracks featuring important lead singers like Bill Pinkney, Bobby Hendricks and Ben E.King as well as the unmistakably sunny voice of Johnny Moore. Hendricks, the classiest performer to appear at the Hemsby Rock'n'Roll Festival, has a number of cuts including 'Drip Drop' and his solo Top 30 hit, 'Itchy Twitchy Feeling'.

Most of these records were aimed at the R & B market. Although the Drifters would dominate the pop charts they did so with records that often amounted to solo vocals plus session singers following notes off a lead sheet.

This collection is different. It's a must for fans of real vocal group music by singers with involvement, imagination, energy and audacity. There's no better showcase for the Drifters at their gospel-harmonised, jump-blues rooted, rockin' and rollin' best.

Video from Drifters - Rock

Drifters - Rock
drifters: Rock
Medium 1
001 Drip Drop
002 Let The Boogie Woogie Roll
003 Money Honey
004 No Sweet Lovin'
005 Such A Night
006 Bip Bam
007 What'cha Gonna Do
008 Honey Love
009 Steamboat
010 There You Go
011 Hot Ziggety
012 Ruby Baby
013 Three Thirty Three
014 Sadie My Lady
015 Try Try Baby
016 Yodee Yakee
017 Let The Boogie Woogie Roll (first version)
018 I Gotta Get Myself A Woman
019 Hypnotized
020 Baltimore
021 Hey Senorita
022 I Feel Good All Over
023 The Flyers: On Bended Knee
024 Bill Pinky: After The Hop
025 Honky Tonky
026 Bill Pinky: Sally's Got A Sister
027 Bip Bam (take 13)
028 Such A Night (take 5)
029 Drip Drop (alt.)
030 If You Don't Come Back
031 Bobby Hendricks: Itchy Twitchy Feeling
032 Suddenly There's A Valley
Write Product Review
You have to be logged in to write a review.
No review available for this item.